My friend invited us to Soot Bull Jeep to celebrate his birthday. Parking was near impossible, there was a long wait for a table, and the dining room was so smoky I was afraid I’d get smoke inhalation.

Despite all these downfalls, this was still the best korean bbq I’ve had! We ordered short ribs, marinated beef, beef tongue, shrimp and squid. While the appetizers were not as plentiful as other restaurants, the meat was so wonderful, that’s a insignificant. I think the secret is the charcoal fire, which I believe adds to the taste. The meats were all very fantastic and the beef tongue had a great texture. They also served a salad that’s half lettuce and half sliced scallions that is surprisingly delicious. There was a salty red garlic paste sauce that tasted like it had fermented beans in it that was a wonderful accompaniment to the meat. DROOL….

Soot Bull Jeep

3136 W 8th St
Los Angeles, CA 90005-1903
Phone: (213) 387-3865