So before I’ve even completed my postings from my last food adventure, I’ve already started planning for my next one. My sister and I have been talking about Singapore for some time now and it wasn’t until this week that we finally booked our tickets. We’ll be in Singapore for four days in September. I was very happy to find that their national pastime is EATING! It’s as if the mother ship was calling me home. Their other favorite pastime is shopping, which should please my sister. I figure we’ll spend the entire time eating in between occasional shopping trips and wandering. Which brings the dilemma… what to eat on the limited time? Obviously, every single meal will have to be carefully planned. There’s absolutely no meals that can be wasted when we only have about 10-11 full meals, 12 if we get up super early on the day we’re leaving; but traveling with my sister, that looks unlikely.

So here are the things that I absolutely want to try:

– Chili Crab

– Chicken Rice

– Indian Food (Roti Parata, Fish Head Curry, Haji Kadir- red meat with marrow

– Singaporean Coffee and Kaya Toast

– Pulled Tea

It’s going to take a bit of planning to fit all those things into our meals. Since many of the dishes I want to try are found at hawker’s markets, I was thinking of doing a food tour where we would go to different stalls and markets, order one dish to share and spend an entire day eating and wandering the city. This way we could be constantly eating without being overly stuffed and raise the probability of completing my list of musts. I also wanted to fit in a dinner at Gunther’s, lunch at The White Rabbit or Humble House, possibly a meal at Iggy’s, and the buffet at Strait’s Kitchen.

This seems like quite a challenge. We’ll see how I fair.